1995 Eagle Talon Reviews - Page 15 of 21

1995 Eagle Talon TSi AWD 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired61000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Eclipse

Summary:

How could you pass up a car like this?

Faults:

The driver side power door lock does not always lock, sticks.

Power steering pump is a little noisy, however, it returns to normal after engine warms up. I'm not sure if this is bad or not.

General Comments:

Since I bought the car I have had nothing but compliments on it.

I turn so many peoples heads when they see me drive by, I love it!

The engine is very quiet, after the pump quiets down, not loud at any point during acceleration. Shifting is very smooth for being a 95'.

This car came fully loaded, power everything, power leather seats, power sun roof, security system, eight speaker CD/Tape/Radio system stock! AWESOME SOUND!

The look of this car is by far one of the best that I have seen.

It handles very nice, no mtter what the road condition is. I had a 91 Mitsubishi Eclipse GSX AWD with 108,000mi, and I fell in love with it. Its no surprise to me that I bought another car just like it. I still have the Mitsubishi and she is still kickin!

DSM Motors has a fan for life! I will always buy DSM as long as they are in business.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2002

1995 Eagle Talon esi 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles

Summary:

A fast, dependable car at a good price

Faults:

My motor on the driver side went out once.

My driver side door handle broke when I pulled up to open the door.

General Comments:

The seats are very comfortable and has a lot of apace if you are smaller.

I don't recomend this car for taller bigger people.

Very fast and the power is great for a 4 cylinder with no turbo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th September, 2002

10th Sep 2002, 14:38

I'm 6'3" and 230lbs, and I'm comfortable in it. There is a deceptively large amount of legroom. It's the headroom that can pose problems. I think I've worn my seat down a little, which now barely keeps my hair from brushing the roof. This car is a fairly large sport-coupe, so for us bigger folks, it's one of the only options for this type of car.

1995 Eagle Talon TSi turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission turbo Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance90987 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Wow! What a rush!

Faults:

The only thing that I do not like about this car is the fact that the gas mileage is low. You have to put in premium gas if you want to get the best performance. Also the special oil that it takes is expensive.

General Comments:

With this car, we replaced the timing belt as preventative maintance.

This car handles very well. It has great power. AWD is great on the snow. My husband and I fight over who gets to drive it because it is a fun car to drive.

The electronics in the car have yet to fail us. We had to replace the windshield, but it was fairly inexpensive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th February, 2002

1995 Eagle Talon ESi 2.0 DOHC turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC turbo Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance111000 miles

Summary:

Good performance car

Faults:

Went ahead and put a new timing belt put on it because I heard they go in every so many miles (dealer paid for it)

Horn quit working after a month of me owning it.

Driver's side door handle broke off.

I can't hardly keep the middle of my windshield from stop fogging up when it's cold out.

General Comments:

It is a very fast 4cyl. The turbo helps a lot, handles curves great.

It's great where you can adjust your seat where you're almost sitting on the ground, but you can feel almost every bump in the road though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2002

1995 Eagle Talon TSI AWD from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carMercury Sable

Summary:

A terrible waste of money!

Faults:

At least there is someone that will listen to my problems! OK, let me tell you what has gone wrong!

Alright, the day after I got this supposedly "Awesome car", the clutch went out! That was a $1000 repair!

Soon after an oil seal blew causing causing my car to stall in the middle of a very busy street. That was a $200 repair.

Brakes were awful, took $500 to fix them and the rotors. Oh and a timing belt broke, that cost $700 to repair.

Electrical system is shot! Fog lights shorted out.

Later another gasket blew causing the oil to leak out once again which caused my engine to seize. Yes that did it! A $4000 dollar repair.

So where am I at, well I'm on the verge of blowing up my own car so I can get some insurance money. But that would be insurance fraud, so I'm not going to. I spent $6500 on the car when I bought it, and now I have about $10000 on a car that has no engine! So what can I do, well I can take a large loss by selling the car without an engine, or I could buy a new engine, but that's not going to happen. I'm not putting another penny in that piece of absolute junk!

General Comments:

Do yourself a favor, and don't buy this car. It's a terrible unreliable piece of junk. You'll become broke in less then two months if you decide to get one, trust me, I know!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th January, 2002

24th Jan 2002, 10:46

Sorry that you have a lemon car...

8th May 2002, 16:26

First of all, you bought this car at 94,000 miles... nothing more said about that. Did you do your homework on these cars before you thought about buying one? Sounds to me like you didn't. Did you know the car's history? Did you know what TYPE of a driver owned this car before you? Did he keep maintenance records for the vehicle? Did you research the car's pros and cons through magazine articles, internet websites, and other forms of information such as dealership recalls, safety inspections and consumer's reports? Did you consult with local car clubs and other owners to retrieve any input from them? ANY car purchased at 94,000 miles is going to require some level of consistent preventative maintenance. As owners of these vehicles can attest, they are extremely reliable vehicles if you take care of them properly and know what kinds of problems and habits they possess. You may have very well acquired a lemon and they are out there. But don't implore negative feedback on a vehicle that an overwhelming majority of owners have a very happy and reliable relationship with. Many enthusiasts, as well as highly respected automotive journalists, are of the opinion that this was one of the best designed and well thought out sports cars EVER made. My patience is nil with people who rip on these cars and don't know a damn thing about them. Especially if you previously owned a Mercury Sable. I'm so sorry! Bottom line: Do your homework, do your research, and consult the experts. Leave the technical attributes of these cars to the people who love, cherish and care for them properly and you won't get burned. God Speed and God Bless. Best of luck to you.

7th Oct 2004, 07:52

I have 180,000 miles on my AWD TSi and have had very little trouble with it. Water pump went at 60,000, overdrive went at 130,000, Cam location sensor went at 175,000, spark plug wire went long ago, and that is about it. The car still has the original turbo, exhaust system and everything else. Runs great and is very dependable. It is rare to find a lemon with the eclipse/talon. The engines especially are bullet proof. You can double the HP without even taking the engine out. Sounds like someone beat the snot out of your car.

5th Oct 2009, 23:04

I'm sorry to hear about your bad experience, but this car is no different then any other. It's a car... if it's not maintained, there's gonna be problems... doesn't matter what car it is.

I have 221,000 miles on my 96 Talon, I drive it 130 miles a day to school round trip. It's an 11 sec four cylinder... if you keep with factory maintenance specs... you'll never be stranded.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 89 reviews