1995 Eagle Talon Reviews - Page 18 of 21

1995 Eagle Talon from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Celebrity

Summary:

Don't feel safe to drive long distance as it may quit at any time

Faults:

Rebuilt cad cam? Leaked.

Timing belts broke.

Transmission slips.

Temperatures are always off.

Eletrical problems.

Cruise control didn't even last 1 year and I hardly used it.

Spark plug blew right out and hit the hood while driving, and the car quit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th June, 2001

1995 Eagle Talon TSi 2.0L turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0L turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

The best bang for the buck: reasonable fuel mileage, insurance costs, and maintenance requirements

Faults:

The alternator needed to be replaced just before the warranty expired. Unfortunately, the dealer said it was the air-mass sensor and wanted $900 to replace it.

I knew better, but they refused to fix the problem under warranty. They said the K&N air filter was the cause of the problem (water ingested and causing a short circuit). Since it was a non-factory item, I voided my warranty and they would not honor it.

Aside from the regular maintenance that ALL cars must receive, that was it.

General Comments:

This car is my first new car. I expected that over time, the car would become less reliable, less impressive to look at, less interesting to drive, or the performance would diminish. No such thing.

I am very satisfied with its performance and looks. My next car will have to perform and look substantially better - I'm talking about a Corvette or BMW to pull that off.

Fuel economy is great when you take into consideration its performance.

Barring any serious problems, I will keep indefinitely.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th May, 2001

13th Jun 2002, 13:41

Did you get Crank walk? I have a 1995 Talon Tsi, I'll tell you what went wrong.

Alternator gone ($450)

Oil seal next to the oil filter broke cause all my oil to leak out and oil pressure to drop $155 (including towing)

Transmission: 2nd gear want, due to a bad clutch I say, but I got ripped off $3600 (they said 1st and 3rd and reverse were bad too) but I didn't notice.

Air idle sensor ($375)

Ignition system (poor wiring) $250 to fix the problem car wouldn't start ($70 for another tow)

I got in an accident, well that wasn't my fault ($2200)

Fixed all ball joints, rear left arm, new rims ($400)

All that was in a matter of 9 months, that sucked, I hope I just don't get crank walk, my cars got 97,000 km 58700 miles, so far I don't have any signs:

Like poor shifting.

Ticking noise under timing belt cover (only ticking is on the top of my engine, I believes its the injectors)

Or difficulty to get in 3rd gear when taking hard left turns clutch feel is consistent, odd times gets a little softer that's all.

13th Apr 2008, 21:05

The 95 Eagle Talon is one of the best cars I have owned; it's fast and quick, and I love the turbo.

I have put in a motor, clutch, pressure plate and throw out bearing. Also wheels, tires and a body kit.

1995 Eagle Talon TSi AWD Turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Turbo Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carMazda Pickup

Summary:

Very fast, safe and noisy and kinda cheap

Faults:

Stereo sounds awesome, but the display is unreadable.

Dashboard has heat caused deformities.

Wind noise on the passenger side door.

Paint chips below the doors.

Sun roof rattles and jams.

Wheels chip and aluminum exposed areas look terrible.

General Comments:

Eats gas in winter (17 mpg) and needs premium.

I have done very limited modifications, but this machine is evil fast (150).

When you drive this car you are quicker and faster than 96% of anything on the road!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th March, 2001

1995 Eagle Talon 2.0L turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0L turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired97500 miles
Most recent distance100050 miles
Previous carHonda 91 CRX Si

Summary:

Great deal

Faults:

Nothing wrong yet.

General Comments:

Great car at a great price. Can't think of any all wheel drive turbo running 6.7 and less than 5000 bucks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th March, 2001

1995 Eagle Talon ESi 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired61000 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles

Summary:

Fun for the price

Faults:

The transmission blew at 64,000 miles, but it was the fault of one of the quick oil change places. Beware if you own a manual. They drained the oil out of my transmission, and replaced it with a synthetic type oil. It blew the next day. The transmission takes a special $40+ a quart oil. The dealers costs are insane. I had a used one put in at a local body shop. He said he had never seen anything like it. It completely exploded.

General Comments:

Great performance for a 4-cylinder, but I have my eyes open for a turbo edition.

6-way manual adjustable drivers seat is nice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2001

23rd Nov 2009, 13:28

N/t models require ATF+4 in their manual transmissions... NOTHING ELSE!!! Or you can kiss your transmission goodbye... only the turbo models use synthetic...

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 89 reviews