1995 Eagle Talon Reviews - Page 19 of 21

1995 Eagle Talon TSi AWD 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 kilometres
Most recent distance113000 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Sidekick

Summary:

Great handling car, too expensive to repair and maintain

Faults:

So many things have gone wrong with my car that I can't remember half of them.

Changed 3 out of 4 bearings.

Changed ball joints ($1800.00).

Changed timing belt & water pump.

Had to get the fuel system cleaned out.

Changed the oil light sensor.

In total I have spent over $7000.00 repairing this crappy car.

General Comments:

I love the how the car handles & drives. It is comfortable & fast.

After 6 years it is still an exotic looking car. Would never buy one again but I can't seem to get rid of it because I am addicted to the ALL WHEEL DRIVE (handles great in winter). I feel like the car was made for me because it suits me perfectly the way it drives & looks. Too bad I'm broke because of it

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th January, 2001

28th Feb 2001, 12:06

Ditto. Ditto. Ditto.

Derek

West Orange, NJ

14th Apr 2001, 19:56

OK, what kind of gas did you use, and how do you drive it?

18th Aug 2001, 19:57

I'm in the same speed-boat, too. Add to your list a weak clutch, replaced with a Stage 1 racing clutch for $1500 and the brittle tranny which blew a throw shaft for 3rd and 4th, $1600 - and worst of all... rattles and squeaks!

Still, without a doubt, better than the average car all-around. I have also been rear-ended and had my nose torn and inter-cooler replaced under the insurance.

It seems to sit in the shop a month or more each year. I'm currently waiting 10 days so far for a nose/air-dam and decided to have the belts changed and W.P., bearings, pulleys and tensioners replaced at my cost. Aside from the clutch upgrade, my only out of pocket expense.

It's soon time to upgrade the suspension and add 80-100hp!

1995 Eagle Talon TSi AWD 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles
Previous carmazda b2000

Summary:

A speedy V-8 smoking machine!!!

Faults:

This car has been pretty reliable, it has never broke down, and that's saying a lot cause I drive it very hard.

I have never had any major problems, the horn is the only thing that has broken but it started working again, and the leather seats have worn a little on the edges.

General Comments:

This car is extremly fast, if you want a sporty car, this is a good choice, this car handles like no other, it is amazing.

My car can eat up any Mustang there is, any, and any 4 cylinder that I've seen.

This car is purely for fun though, there is very little back seating, it can only seat 2 comfortably.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2001

31st Jan 2001, 12:05

If it can beat any mustang, I'd like to see it run against my buddy's Mustang SVT Cobra R.

1st Feb 2001, 21:31

My '93 TSi AWD beat a SALEEN Mustang.

9th Feb 2001, 21:23

To all the Mustang SVT Cobra R drivers - it doesn't matter how much HP your gas guzzlers make - nothing beats All-Wheel Drive! I also don't hear any Mustang drivers bragging about how unbelievable their car handles.

1995 Eagle Talon TSI AWD from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carMazda Miata

Faults:

Horn.

Shifting is not smooth.

Driver's window would not go up (now fixed).

Other than that, nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

This is a great car, very fast and handles great. The car has a beautiful lines that flow along the car.

The sound system is Infinity and it sounds amazing. The only complaint is that the car produces a lot of wind noise.

I have owned a couple of sports cars and the Talon is by far the fastest. The only thing that I miss with my Miata is the convertible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2001

1995 Eagle Talon from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership1995
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles

Summary:

Thank you, may I have another? :)

Faults:

I had a spark plug blow out of the block ripping all the threads out with it and also had to have the transmission worked on.

Recently the car locked in second gear and when I took it to the shop they found nothing wrong with it. They did say that the oxygen sensor and throttle positioning valve need replacing as they are out of range.

General Comments:

Very awesome car. Would buy another and in fact want to buy an older one later on down the road.

Wasn't to crazy over the 97 and 98 models, but was very disappointed to learn of them discontinuing the Eagle Talon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th November, 2000

8th Jan 2001, 15:10

I own a '97 Eagle Talon. It does 0-60 in 7 seconds. My oxygen sensors also went out - coincidence? I think not. It will cost me 120 dollars to replace one, and since my car is turbo charged the dealer said that I need to. 240 dollars down the drain.

And I have a problem when I reach 80mph and over, my car shakes tremendously. Could you help me out?

JJLoya@hotmail.com

23rd Sep 2004, 12:43

Try a strut tower bar or a rear stabilizer bar. Will make car more rigid and probably prevent shaking at high speeds. New struts maybe?

28th Jan 2005, 21:23

May be you need a wheel balance and aligment for the shakes.

12th Oct 2005, 22:30

I had this problem in the front with my 1995 TSi AWD. Getting a tire balance on all fours and a wheel alignment is good, but if that doesn't work it's your tie rod ends and maybe, maybe some certain ball joints (Common on ALL cars, ball joints get replaced more than any other part, and yes, even more than brake pads).

Believe me the guys in the garage will find out for you when you bring it in for a Wheel Alignment. It's also double the costs if your car is AWD. Like mine.

Hope I helped!!!

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 89 reviews