1995 Eagle Talon Reviews - Page 8 of 21

1995 Eagle Talon tsi (fwd) 2.0 (4g63) from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 (4g63) Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance129000 miles
Previous carEagle Talon

Summary:

It was a great deal, 300 horse power for 5000 bucks

Faults:

The leather on my seats started to wear before I got the car.

The fabric on the iterior roof of the car also had started to come down by the visors.

At 120000 miles I replaced the flex tube on the exhaust because it was leaking.

At 128000 I had to replace the stock clutch. It went bad due to excessive horsepower and torque for the clutch rating, not to mention miles.

General Comments:

My talon is a very quick car especially if you can get the front tires to hook up on a take off.

Many want the all wheel drive version, but I stuck with front wheel drive so that I could keep the cost of maintenance down to a minimum.

It's a very comfortable car inside to, with leather seats and all switches and storage places at arms reach.

This car will be a keeper for a long time because, Its fun, fast, and easy to fix when the little things go wrong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2004

26th May 2005, 20:40

A Eclipse GSX actually isn't as quick as a Eagle Talon TSI Fwd, if you going by 95's, 0-60 time is.2 seconds shorter in the TSI, that's not much, but just pointing out that an eclipse isn't quicker.

29th May 2010, 22:45

Hello all. I just bought a TSI Fwd. On my way home the car started over heating. It lags when taking off and makes a weird sound from the front end and when I stop. It also makes a rattling noise or a ticking noise when I take off. It goes away when I stop. The light that looks like a home with lines in the box is on and the check engine light. None of this was on or happening when I bought it. It's my first TSI and I heard so many good things about this car, but now I don't know what to do. If someone can help me with some advice, that would be great. Thank you for reading this, and I hope to hear from someone soon.

1995 Eagle Talon es1 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance133000 miles
Previous carEagle Talon

Summary:

I need help

Faults:

All windows fog.

Horn does not work.

Door handle broke off, driver side.

Cruise control works when it wants to.

Backseat seat belts do not work, but who wants to sit back there anyways.

Bracket on my belt is broken, so it screeches all the time, can't find another one to fix it.

Windows rattle when down I always think they will crack.

Idles very low I sometimes think it might stall on me.

General Comments:

I use to love this car, gets me to college.

These things have just been adding up.

Very hard to find parts.

I need a new driver side door handle if anyone out there has a connection or can give me web site to look on that would be great.

Nlarkin@yahoo.com.

E-mail if you can help.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st May, 2004

23rd Sep 2004, 12:46

If you need any parts, go to http://www.uneedapart.com. It's an excellent parts search site! Found many hard to find parts very cheap.

1995 Eagle Talon Esi 2.0 Non turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Non turbo Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired101000 miles
Most recent distance119900 miles
Previous carNissan Pulsar

Summary:

Beautiful Garbage

Faults:

My front hub bearings had to be replaced 2 months 109,000 miles after I had purchased the car.

A/C tensioner pulley squeals like theres no tomorrow (mechanic says that's all it will do until replaced)

Sounds as if my hub bearing needs to be replaced yet again at 119,000 miles.

Ticking noise when turning while car is moving...front axle.

Your everyday fogging of the drivers side headlight. (use Mothers Mag & Aluminum polish, Works great!!)

Costly rear breaks when need to be replaced. (New parts with labor costs roughly $400)

Sunroof has a nasty sounding rattle, as does the windows.

Drivers side door is a little hard to unlock/lock. 110,000.

General Comments:

Heres the deal, It's a sharp looking car, but if your going to college or planning on driving frequently don't invest in one of these. Another piece of advice for those of you who still own a talon, you won't sell it for as much as you owe on the loan, once the problems start occurring they don't stop.

For those of you looking to buy a talon, I would suggest spending your money wisely, there are still cars out there that are " Faster " than the garbage produced by Eagle motors. I wonder why they went out of business?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th March, 2004

25th Mar 2004, 20:56

This car was a re-badged Mitsubishi Eclipse, just like the Plymouth Laser. In other words, garbage can refer to Mitsubishi rather than the old Eagle brand.

3rd Nov 2007, 14:17

Looks like you bought the car when it was garbage, someone must have ran the crap out of it. Yes Eagle went out of business, but look at all the awards they received for the 1G model. The Talon is like no other car out there. I own one myself. And I would agree with the part you said about once one thing goes bad they all do. I had to put a clutch in at 82,000 miles. and recently my tie rod fell out going down the highway bout 60 miles an hour. And everything behind the wheel is bent out. I wouldn't recommend this car to someone that can't afford it. But it is a great performance car that is cheap on parts, economically friendly, and looks great.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 89 reviews