2003 GMC Envoy LT 4.2 from North America


Excellent vehicle

General Comments:

Car was a good price, excellent options in comparison with other vehicles.

The Toyota Highlander was no where near as nice, as big, it's gas mileage was about the same, and it was more expensive for the same amount of options.

Why someone would buy a Toyota over this car is pure psychological.

My inlaws have a Highlander and it's OK, but I would have been settling for much less.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 2008

2003 GMC Envoy SLE 4.2 from North America


Will not purchase another one


Yes, it seems like some others have a few of the same issues I've had with my Envoy.

I just replaced the low beam/daytime running lamps, and was forced to visit the dealership because the part need was only a dealer item. It was the dimmer switch which isn't sold anywhere else. They installed it 475 dollars later.

Now my engine coolant temp sensor seems to be malfunctioning. This is not a dealer item, but I can't find it anywhere but at the dealer of course.

General Comments:

Well, the car has lasted me for as long as I can expect American made cars to last (5 years max). It's a great ride, but people are right about it being a money pit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th October, 2008

26th Oct 2008, 15:28

After driving 3 Explorers over the years, we bought a 2003 Envoy in 2003 and have never been more pleased with any sport utility vehicle. After 5 years we have encountered not a single problem. We plan to drive it another 150,000 miles. Our other GM vehicle (a Pontiac) is 8 years old and it has never had a problem either. GM builds very reliable stuff.

2003 GMC Envoy XL 2WD 6 cylinder engine from North America




Had to replace the water pump and serpentine belt.

Had to replace the motor mounts, seals and sensors.

Replaced the fuel tank because it was leaking.

Had the front stabilizer bushings replaced.

Had one rear window regulator replaced, and the other rear window also needs replacing.

Rear blower stays on when the vehicle is off.

Sometimes the check engine comes on because the seal on the gas cap is not tight enough.

General Comments:

The car was fine for the first 4 years we owned it, but in the last year it just seems to be falling apart.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th October, 2008

26th Oct 2008, 15:30

You must have gotten a car built on a Friday. Our 2003 Envoy has been the most trouble-free and all around best larger vehicle we've ever owned. We plan to keep it another 150,000 miles.

1st Nov 2011, 19:41

Sounds like normal wear and tear to me. Bought new at 122000 miles. The belt, you have to replace those, and while replacing the belt, a lot of dealers will sell you on the water pump, the just in case service while we are in that area. All the other stuff is normal too, so why disappointed; you drive 25000 miles a year, and now what you are calling problems are normal service, wear and tear.

2003 GMC Envoy XL 6 cylinder in line from North America




I bought this Envoy new Dec 2002, purchased an extended warranty, which I have never done before on a new vehicle.

Two wiper motors and rear-end replaced before 36,000 miles, transmission shortly after that.

Have had it to dealers from OK to Ca to determine why it sounds like fan-belt hitting shroud, no one could diagnose problem.

Last month the engine was surging while driving; took it to the dealer, said it was a sensor in the A/C, also had them check for fan belt noise, they said it was the tensioner, had them fix the sensor, but took to another shop for tensioner as the dealer's price was ridiculous, they said there was nothing wrong with it.

Now I was driving, and the service engine and reduced engine power went on - could only drive about 20 mph. Took to it the dealer; they said it is the clutch fan, to the tune of 750.00. 425.00 for the part. My son, who works for a parts distributor in the Midwest, says the part costs 200.00.

General Comments:

I bought my vehicle from the dealer where it is serviced, but after such rip-off, I will never buy another GM product.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th September, 2008