1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4.0 from North America


This SUV is costly, but reliable


I have had problems with the transmission (85000), drivers side tail light (87000) and the rear A frame (71000).

General Comments:

My transmission started slipping around 85000 miles and turned out to be the tranny pump (power train warranty). Next the tail lights failed on a gradual scale and turns out all grounds as well as power were there. Finally I found out that the ground was insufficient (repair ground connection in the light socket) for the parking lights and the brake lights to illuminate at the same time. My rear A frame wore out and was causing a clunking noise easy fix was to replace the A frame (easy).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th December, 2007

1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited V* from North America


There is a whining noise from engine accelerating increasing with speed. Mechanics cannot figure out why. Other than that we have not had problems with jeep.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th September, 2007

21st Sep 2007, 08:15

Does it do this above 3000 RPM?

1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0 I6 from North America


A very well built SUV


Wiper motor went out about 2 weeks after buying the car, car lot replaced.

Had problems with the turn signals, but after checking online, seems like of chrysler's cars has the same problem.

General Comments:

This is a good all around SUV. wished it was 4x4, but does extremely well anyway. I haven't had very many problems with it compared to how many miles I have put on it. it has been wrecked once, don't about 2500.00 to the passenger fender and bumper cover.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th August, 2007

1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 6 cylinder from North America


A piece of crap, junk it


Transfer case Replaced 50,000 miles.

Stitching on passenger seat came apart and no one ever sits there.

Plastic Pieces are breaking all the time.

Interior Lights will not turn off so I had to remove bulbs as no one can figure it out.

Sucks Gas.

General Comments:

I will never, but a domestic automobile again. This has been the worst car I have ever had in my life I wrote Chrysler a letter and they wrote back to tell me too bad live with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th August, 2007

1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited V8 from North America


Jeep really sucks!


Blower motor won't come on. AC lights up as well as recirc, but no blower. I replaced the Automatic Temperature zone control unit. Checked all fuses tested blower motor. I can't locate the problem. Anyone have any ideas??? Help I am going Nucking futs.

General Comments:

Jeep sucks!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd August, 2007

25th Aug 2007, 14:45

Dude, if it's beyond your skills take it to the stupid dealer and let them fix it.

29th Aug 2007, 09:16

I love the recommendation to take it to your stupid dealer. :)

Because that's exactly what they are. All they know how to do is replace items, one at a time, and see if it fixes the problem. They charge you for each item even if they weren't the problem as well as the labor involved in replacing the wrong parts. Then when the problem goes away for two weeks, but returns, none of the previous work matters as far as warranty work goes because they'll find another reason for why it failed again and recharge you for the new parts and labor. Great Racket!

My blower motor on my 2000 Grand... LTD became intermittent, then failed. They fixed a bad connector (melted?) problem went away for a month or two. Next the unit started running at full blast when the car was parked with the key out of the ignition. Drained my battery dead twice before I proved it was the blower motor causing the drain. Dealer replaced the resistor module and melted connector cable again. New charges (surprise) After 6 months the problem returned. A call to the dealer made me realize that they were soooo... stupid! I bought a 20 amp power switch and spliced into the red power wire feeding the blower motor. Now I just disable the blower motor by opening the switch when I leave the vehicle. :)

All the rest of the heater/AC controls work fine when the key is in the ignition. Problem solved.

Rich in NH.