2001 Lincoln LS Sport 3.8 from North America


Never should have bought the car


First week of owning the car, the sunroof broke. They said it happens to most of the 01's...

I've had to have it fixed 3 other times; each time had a ignition coil replaced, along with my passenger side window, which wouldn't close the whole way.

Back passenger door won't lock, and the check engine and ABS and traction control lights won't stop coming on.

General Comments:

Black paint, black leather subs, tinted windows, screen. I loved it, but it has just too many malfunctions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th May, 2010

2001 Lincoln LS from North America


Never will I buy another LS or a Lincoln of any kind

General Comments:

Since day one, coolant reservoir tank cracked in many places, thermostat had to be replaced.

Continuously replace sensors all over the engine and exhaust system.

Ball bearing needing replacement.

Check engine light is on almost all time.

Seat belt light comes on when it wants.

My dream car, the Lincoln LS, is beautifully built LEMON.

My father always told us, if you wanted a good car, buy a Lincoln. "WHAT HAPPENED TO THE LS?"

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th April, 2010

4th May 2010, 22:29

The Town Car is superior to the LS!

5th May 2010, 10:42

You haven't really listed anything too horribly wrong with this car, especially after 100K miles. You need a better mechanic that might be able to diagnose the ongoing engine light issues properly and fix the problem.

The only thing I can say bad about the LS was resale value. They lost about 50% in the first year, and you got about a third back after 3 years. Typical of American luxury though. At least you bought it used.

5th May 2010, 13:36

The LS had a suspension and chassis that turned out to be more expensive to manufacture than Ford planned. So cost cuts had to be made in other areas like the interior. That is what happened to the LS.

2001 Lincoln LS 3.0 V6 from North America


I like the looks way better than the new MX that replaces the LS


Both electric L&R front window regulators broke at about 36,500. Dealer replaced both under warranty.

Both front headlights leaked, allowing moisture in but not out. Again, the dealer replaced them free of charge. Though the cost was over $500 a pop!

These are the only issues in nearly 107,000 of normal maintenance.

I had to replace the brakes at 87,000!!! Not bad I'd say.

Course, the air conditioning is now needing freon at 100,000, however being winter it will wait.

I pulled the OEM Continental tires, early on, around 6000 miles (hated the things).

BFG TA's made big difference, I had to replace them at 82,000... with TA again. BFG TA's are the bomb on an LS.

General Comments:

I still love the looks, and the after market McLaren grill is the only cosmetic change I made.

I think the OEM grill was just a bit over stated in the looks department; kinda overkill for the sleek nose.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th February, 2010

2001 Lincoln LS V6 from North America


Ughhhhhhhh, I love this car, but now hate it


Left back window motor went out.

Both headlights fogged up.

Headlight clamp burnt out.

Back brake lights go out every month.

Right and left sway bars went out.

Car blows hot air when the A/C is on.

Both my heated seats went out.

Car is over heating.

Changed the cracked coolant reservoir tank, still over heats.

Just got word I need a new hydraulic fan and hydraulic fan pump.

Thermostat housing.

I need an extended warranty, can some one help me, please email me. adubbbbbbz@gmail.com

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th December, 2009

2001 Lincoln LS 3.9 from North America


5 out of 10


First problem was the right rear window. I bought the part and replaced it myself.

At some point near 50K miles, the dealership replaced 1 coil pack and 1 spark plug due to missing. Dealership told me they replaced all of them.

At 76 miles, 800 over the warranty, dealer told me all of the coil packs had to be replaced. Warranty would not cover it - liar!!

Dealership told me that I needed new front brakes, I replaced them myself and the wear on the "bad pads" was only .030 from the new ones I bought; they lied to me.

Now passenger side AC blows hot.

General Comments:

Car accelerates amazingly from 55 - 90.

Handles well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th October, 2009