2001 Lincoln LS Reviews - Page 8 of 17

2001 Lincoln LS 3.9 V8 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.9 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired73000 miles
Most recent distance104600 miles

Summary:

Great looking car, not worth the money!

Faults:

I bought my 2001 Lincoln LS about three years ago with 73000 miles. Loved the look and the blue paint. I started having problems with it about a year after I purchased it. They are as follows;

1. Replaced both driver and passenger window regulators.

2. Burning oil smell coming from the engine.

3. Driver inside door handle broke.

4. Rear view mirror fell on a hot California day.

5. Center air vents broke off.

6. Driver side, and driver side passenger light fell off.

7. Tranny starts "gear searching" around 50mph.

8. Replaced 2 ignition coils.

I still own the car, but plan on trading it in for a Honda or Toyota!! I know they are reliable cars. I'd be in on that law suit in a heartbeat! Good luck to all Lincoln LS owners!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th November, 2007

2001 Lincoln LS V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

The Lincoln LS is poorly made!

Faults:

The previous owner had to replace the right rear window regulator on this car.

We had to replace the left rear window regulator shortly after we bought the car.

The valve cover gasket started leaking.

We have a miss in it now from the oil leaking onto the plugs and coils.

Our left front regulator just went out of our car and we spent $400 to have it replaced.

General Comments:

As far as looks, this is a beautiful car. We get comments on it daily.

However, with all the problems we are having with it, I would Not buy another Lincoln.

So far, 3 of the window regulators have been replaced. A lady at the Ford Dealership told us this is common in Lincolns.

The tires are very expensive to replace and do not do well in snow at all!

Ford should have a recall on the window regulators on this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th September, 2007

2001 Lincoln LS from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carLincoln LS

Summary:

This car is for looks and looks alone

Faults:

I have to Agree with you when you state, "Lincoln is avoiding a recall on the window regulators on the LS". So far 3 of the 4 windows in the car do not work and the fourth seems to be on the way. This car is for looks and looks alone.

Ke Ke.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th August, 2007

2001 Lincoln LS V8 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles

Summary:

Worst thing ever made. Looks great

Faults:

I would also join the suit.

I have replaced all coils/plugs, trans converter, back window motors, head lights, computer,t wo fuel pumps, intake manifold, all sensors.

Have taken it to Lincoln 6 times for a starting problem when warm. It has been there for 3 weeks now and they still cannot find what is causing it.

A/C compressor makes a noise and the front end sounds like it is going to fall off. They cannot find a problem with that also. They have had the car for a 3rd of the time I have.

Someone help!!!

I may have missed some things.

Robert Anderson, Naples, Florida.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th August, 2007

2001 Lincoln LS 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired19 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carChrysler Intrepid

Summary:

Nice style & handling

Faults:

Warranty:

Fogged headlamps.

Engine light sensors.

AC compressor replaced.

NON-Warranty:

Tires have uneven wear. I had to have the wheels aligned at 19,000 miles. The factory Continental tires were crap. Extremely noisy. I replaced them with Bridgestones.

Headlamps fogy. I removed them and sealed the lense to reflector using epoxy.

Left rear window fell down at 42,000 miles. Cable slipped off the pulley and got tangled in the mechanism. I replaced the unit less motor.. Parts were $49.00.

General Comments:

The car handles better the more it is driven.

Gas mileage is superb; been running on regular and get 28 MPG highway.

Drivers cabin leg space is a little tight due to the bell housing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th August, 2007

2001 Lincoln LS LS8 Sport Package 3.9L V8 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.9L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance62800 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz 190

Summary:

This car is a drivers dream

Faults:

When new it had a leak on the oil fill spout base.

Fogged up headlight.

Leak on the right side of windshield.

Rear Window Motor assembly.

Clogged, non operation windshield washer sprayer.

Rotors needed replacing at 20K miles, 2nd set still good at 62K.

Heater/AC control module right side of cabin. Did you know this car has dual heater cores and controls? Very different. That was an 1100 repair and hit a few miles after the warranty was over.

I have had none of the serious problems others have had.

General Comments:

This cars a blast to drive. It handles like it's on rails.

I hit a speed of 148 on a cool morning in the Nevada desert and the car still had more. The car will get up and go. The car was still stable and under control at that speed. Try that in a damn Honda or Camry. LOL. Not even in the same league.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd August, 2007

2nd Nov 2008, 22:02

I have a 99 Honda Prelude, and it only has a 2.2 liter 4 cylinder that makes 200 horsepower. I can hit 157 mph top speed in a quite a hurry. You have a 3.9 liter V8. DOUBLE the engine size and 4 MORE cylinders than I have. Agree that your engine is twice the size of mine and you only have 52 more horsepower than my 4 banger.

Honda makes great products. 100 horse per liter?? Amazing! You should look into one. Although they might not be as comfortable and luxurious, your wallet will love the thousands of miles of maintenance free driving and great gas mileage. But if you want power, stay clear of all Civics except for SI model.

3rd Oct 2009, 19:47

Great, another Honda fan boy comparing his 'lude to an LS. For that matter my 93 DSM has currently 125hp per liter, and came with an honest 100hp per liter. Your H22a makes 200 hp with 2.2 liters. Fuzzy math from a rice burner.

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 61 reviews