2001 Lincoln LS from North America


Its nice, but expensive and to sensitive


Not even a year after I had the car I did the transmission. a bad coil and now they tell me I need both catalyst converter. I changed 2 window regulators and know I think I need an engine I haven't check it yet, but it doesn't run it could be something easy or a hole engine. I ran Thru a puddle of water shut off and that was it. and the advance track light won't shut off.

General Comments:

The exterior is perfect. and the interior and before all that it was a nice quite ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th October, 2006

2001 Lincoln LS 3.4 from North America


Most beautiful money pit


Window regulator.

Ball joint replaced.

2 Fuel injectors had to be replaced.

Heated driver seat quit working.

Foggy head lamps.

Cruise control quit working.

General Comments:

I bought this car for looks and also on the reputation of Lincoln. Boy did I get fooled. The foggy headlamp seems to be a 'right of passage' in owning one of these! Warranty covered that. Then the ball joint went out. Then the two front seats quit heating. Then I had to have 2 fuel injectors replaced ($850.00) Now the power window, rear driver side quit working ($300.00) And the cruise control is no longer working. I still love the look of the car. I believe it is the sharpest looking car around. But if one more thing puts this baby in the shop... she is gone!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th October, 2006

2001 Lincoln LS Lincoln V8 from North America


Most expensive, but worst car I've ever owned


I purchased my 2001 Lincoln on Feb 9, 2002 with 20,805 miles on it. My first review has not been posted, so I'm trying again with updated problems.

I took my car to the dealership in the summer of 2004 and in July 2005 because it would sometimes blow hot air out one air conditioner vent and cold air out of the other. The dealership would not fix it because they could not get the car to do it when they had it. On August 3, 2006 I drove straight to the dealership with it blowing hot air and they finally replaced the F & R A/C Control Valve for $605.70.

On May 18, 2006, I was returning to work when I thought both my front tires had blown out. In stead the left front wheel came off because the steering knuckle broke. My car had to be towed to the dealership where it cost me $682.09 to replace the LF Steering Knuckle. I'm very thankful I was only going 25 miles in town rather than 70 miles on the interstate.

I had to take my car back to the shop on June 26, 2006 because the left front door handle would not work. It cost $199.30 to replace the RR Handle.

My front lights also fog, but I've not had them fixed. My car will also buzz on occasion with no message from the computer system.

On August 19 my front left window dropped into the door. I will be putting my car in the shop again tomorrow.

General Comments:

I thought I was buying a high quality car that would last me at least 10 years. Quality control on this car is so poor and I can't wait until I can trade it in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th August, 2006

23rd Jan 2008, 22:15

I own a 2001 LS V8 I call it my pretty sinkin Lincoln. I have had more issues with this car and I am so upside down on the loan I have to choice, but to keep repairing it. Three of the 4 windows have had the motors or cables replaced. My rear tail light is out and new bulbs don't fix the issue, but if you set the car alarm off it works fine? My traction control has gone out. My front passenger ball joint sensor went out causing my speedometer and whole computer to shut down. It is snowy out now so if I slide the whole dash goes out again. I have had transmission work done which took forever to fix because they would test drive the car for me and see how horrible it shifted, but then when hooked up to the computer it showed no problems so they refused to fix it??? Don't lincoln mechanics know how to find out whats wrong with out a computer telling them?? So my car is pretty, but very expensive upkeep! I think lincoln should take more responsibility and pay for the repairs that seem to be so very common in this model!

22nd Dec 2008, 19:45

Less than $1500 in 5 years isn't that bad in terms of repairs.

25th Jul 2016, 02:14

These cars were approx. $20,000 less than their rivals, BMW, Cattlelack, etc. Take a look here at Carsurvey, & see what kinds of problems, they've had.

The window regulators break. Yep. Cost me $65 for the new improved aftermarket one. Took me about an hour, even though I've never done this.

I've heard some were charged $2500 for the coil packs; that's more an issue with an ignorant owner, who was clearly overcharged, as coil packs are basically spark plug wires. Change the fluids as necessary, & you'll notice there's more of these still on the road, than the Cattlelack with the Northstar V8. I saw a long row of those at the junkyard, bodies were in excellent condition, interiors good, motors blown. Dollar for dollar, not bad.

Even though this is far from my personal favorite, I must say, the paint, the interior, the motor, the trans... Overall very clean, no rips, tears or falling apart like a VW, it was well worth the $4500 for a car with 95K miles.