2010 Toyota RAV4 Sport 4X4 V6 from North America - Comments

24th Aug 2010, 16:57

Oh, I know that. I was just joking about it. People love to harp on negativity and they eat up stories the media spews out to them. Toyotas are still one of the best brands out there and ours is night and day to any domestic we've owned and even the brand new ones we test drove. The Toyota is so much more refined and much higher quality, it is astounding.

25th Aug 2010, 11:55

"The Toyota is so much more refined and much higher quality, it is astounding."

I suppose that's why Toyota ranks TWENTY-FIRST out of THIRTY-THREE car makers in build quality??

25th Aug 2010, 15:04

Following ratings tests instead of making choices based on actual experience. I drove both domestic SUV's and Toyotas, and the Toyotas were so much better to drive, being smoother, tighter, better handling and faster off the line, it wasn't even a contest. If you really want to go around believing every source to make your major decisions as to where you spend your hard earned cash, then more power to ya. I, on the other hand, will stick to the brands I know and trust to be the highest quality for the dollar. Ratings companies tell me nothing about anything really. I really feel that the dying domestic auto industry bought high ratings to spur sales. Sorry, but the cars and trucks just aren't that great in reality when you drive them, and I just can't see an honest reviewer driving an American SUV and than a more refined import and saying the American brand ranks better....without serious compensation that is.

Am I cynical? Considering the whole fabric of American business has been a lie for the past few years, and scams and scandals are a daily occurrence.... no, I don't think I am cynical. The industry was dying fast AND the government is involved, you know... our upfront and honest government. So yeah, keep believing in the fairy tale that domestics are sooooo great, and go ahead and vote Obama back into office in 2012 while you're at it. I started a post on my RAV 4, and I'll let you know, honestly, how it is going. So far it has surpassed my GM by so much it isn't even in the same league!

30th Aug 2010, 13:57

Well, pushing 1,500 miles and still like the day we drove it off the lot. Only difference is the mileage has gone up a bit to around 25 mixed. I am sure it'll be 30 or more on the next trip.

No regrets, never will have them... other than keeping the Trailblazer as long as I did.

12th Oct 2010, 08:59

Right, it is at around 3,500 miles now.

Did a 6 hour trip yesterday cruising 80 MPH most of the way and I am still so amazed at how nice this thing is to drive! It is so smooth and powerful and just lazily turns about 2,200 RPMs at 80, so it is super quiet. Still feels like the first day really and I expect it to go on feeling that way for some time.

After 6 hours I was not the least bit fatigued and I could have kept going for a long way. My Trailblazer? Not so much. I felt like I couldn't even move after even 2 or 3 hours behind the wheel. The seats were too soft and mushy with very little support compared to the Toyota. I was constantly adjusting them as my legs would fall asleep.

No issues with the Toyota though and I just can't get enough of driving it. They really make a fun SUV that is exciting to drive and not mundane!

21st Oct 2010, 11:56

I bought my 2010 Rav4 Sport in October 2009. I have not had a single problem with it. It performs flawlessly -- even in deep snow. The car has a tight turning radius, is very responsive, and has a quick pickup. Though the fuel economy is not as good as I would like, and I probably will get regular tires when I buy new ones, as the run-flat tires tend to have a hard ride; however, I still like Toyotas for their quality and reliability. This is a terrific car!!!

21st Oct 2010, 12:43

Good to know about the winter driving. Haven't had the pleasure of driving mine in the snow yet! What are you getting for mileage? I have been surprised, actually, to be getting in the mid 20's pretty consistently with mixed driving. I'd think it would be pretty easy to get up towards 30 mpg highway if it wasn't so darn smooth and I could keep it below 75!

6th Nov 2010, 12:06

Over 4k miles on our Sport, and still like the day we drove off the lot. I love this truck! I just keep laughing at all of the noise comments. Not sure what actual truck they were riding in... maybe a 15 year old RAV with 300K miles on it? Ours is very quiet and smooth, even with the roof open and windows down. If the RFT tires get noisy as they wear, the simple solution would be to change them out for standard tires and carry an inflator around. I may do that anyhow as the tires are around $220 apiece. We'll see. I have gotten conflicting reports as to the wear rate and noise level on these tires. Personal experience will be the only factor here!

I finally got around to pulling the boat with it when I picked it up to take it to storage. I was nervous, being the first time with a smaller SUV. It handled it very well, and it was very easy to drive, even with the extra 3K pounds strapped to it. The V6 acts like there is nothing back there, and it still accelerates and shifts nice and smooth. I would recommend getting trailer brakes though due to the lighter weight of this truck over a larger mid sized SUV. I had no problem stopping overall, but I am sure if I pulled the boat often, it would take its toll on the brakes.

I would not hesitate to ever buy one of these again. Easily the best all around small SUV. What amazes me is how fun this thing is to drive. I always look forward to another spin in it. I am also amazed at the comfort level on long trips. I really honestly expected it to be a little uncomfortable due to its size. I can drive 5 or 6 hours, and not even be tired or sore. That is the best surprise about this truck really.

2nd Nov 2011, 20:40

15K miles now and the RAV is still driving like new. The tires have not worn much at all yet either, which is hopefully a good sign. I am still not at all tired of driving this thing around. It really is an amazing small SUV. I'll post again later on, and report if I have any problems with the truck. Oh, it was recalled for the supposed faulty floor mat, but it already has the updated design installed in it, so nothing was needed on it.

12th Jan 2012, 17:10

Who doesn't get their engine repaired at 35,000 miles under warranty? Even if you hated the car, you would get the engine fixed for resale value.