2000 Vauxhall Vectra Reviews - Page 10 of 11

2000 Vauxhall Vectra SRi 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra 1.6 LS

Summary:

Great motorway cruiser, but poor economy and hard work around town

Faults:

Concerned about functionality of the air conditioning (keeps steaming up the windows), but too cold in England at the moment to test this properly.

Otherwise very reliable (unlike previous 3 year old 1.6 Vectra).

General Comments:

Feels like driving a train - always feels like its got power in reserve, but doesn't feel as quick as you would expect from a standstill (tall gearing?).

Handling OK, better than non-SRi Vectras, but hardly sporty.

Great stereo, but the air conditioning in Vectras seems unreliable.

Gearchange, steering and fuel economy poor, but trip computer and bootspace a bonus. Mine is a manual, but automatic Vectras I have driven seem very good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th March, 2001

9th Apr 2001, 01:34

Don't worry about the air conditioning condensation; It is simply coming out of the vapour trap. Every car with A/C I have owned does this, if the A/C is used, and then switched off when the weather is cool or damp.

A/C will not function properly below 4 deg C either, so even if you turn it on to clear the windows, if the air is cooler than this, the condensation will remain.

31st Aug 2001, 06:25

Interesting about the lack of power around town - my previous car was a 2.0LS 16v cavalier, it went well from standstill and was dead economical (40+ mpg), so I didn't hesitate to replace it with a 2.0SRI, as it was the same engine. I've had the usual problems with this engine, ie: engine management & sensors, but also poor fuel economy and lack of power below 3000rpm. I even have to switch off the air con. if I want to overtake, just to get some power! It's been to 2 dealers, they say it's OK, but I think the engine mapping is wrong. My work colleagues who also have SRI's complain about the same lack of low end grunt, I had a 1.8LS as a hire car - what a difference! Great off the line! I won't be getting another Vauxhall.

28th Aug 2002, 08:49

I agree AC saps power to the extent that the car nearly stalls (DANGEROUS??). Main Dealers say that nothing is wrong or it that we don't know what is wrong.

Also the car runs very hot with the AC on and the fan runs nearly continually unless you're belting down the motorway.

I can't drive hard or overtake quickly with the AC on as I lose about half the power.

2000 Vauxhall Vectra LS 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired57 miles
Most recent distance8000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra 1.7 TD Estate

Summary:

Good egg, in fact a double yolker

Faults:

Nothing, yet!!!!!

Oopps, sorry a bit of trim has come loose on the n/s rear door.

General Comments:

A very comfortable and reliable car that gives me 450/500 miles per tank of John Prescott's unleaded, which is better than the 400 I used to get out of the tank of my previous Astra 1.7TD estate.

If you want a comfortable, reliable, good looking hatch that will seat 4 in relative comfort, then go for the Vectra and ditch the blue oval of a Mondeo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th November, 2000

8th Jan 2001, 13:06

Comfortable ? The worst seats I have ever used in a Vectra LS bar none.

Reliable.... you are very lucky. Mine was a bag of nails.

Mondeo? Less pretty, true, but more able, entertaining and reliable.

2nd Feb 2001, 10:47

This must sicken Jeremy Clarkson.

9th Apr 2001, 17:18

Please can I have your car as mine has poor seating, the trim keeps coming off, and the engine management light keeps coming on for no reason, but costs me £25 for Vauxhall to turn it off - not a happy camper

1st Aug 2001, 16:05

Just got a 2001 model a month ago - very impressed compared to my old primera - I find the seats great for my back - never had any back aches so far - only problem is watching the seat belt doesn't fly out of my hand and go through the side window! Anyone had the experience?

13th Jun 2002, 13:37

Vectra 18 ls 2000 sun roof problems net work q 3 times here hopeing.

27th Feb 2003, 06:12

The 2.0 litre 16v dti pulls like a train.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 37 reviews