2000 Vauxhall Vectra Reviews - Page 8 of 11

2000 Vauxhall Vectra DTi 2.0 16v turbo diesel from Spain

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 kilometres
Most recent distance70000 kilometres
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Comfortable, economical and practical

Faults:

Airbag warning light, as with most Vectras!

Slight fluid seepage from steering rack.

Lid of (annoying) front central armrest worked loose.

All fixed under warranty.

General Comments:

Paint on bumpers flakes or scrapes off at the slightest touch, so the once beautiful dark blue metallic paint now looks tatty.

Majestic and imposing twin-tone horn; if only lowlier Corsas and Astras had the same!

Incredible economy - constant 40 mpg, good even for a diesel.

The air-con continues to stink the car out; very embarrassing with passengers!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2002

2000 Vauxhall Vectra GSi 2.5 24v V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 24v V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance23000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Tigra

Summary:

Superb performance car and a real head turner.... wanna race me? hehe

Faults:

Power steering pump replaced at 22,800 miles (however, should not have been replaced as not faulty, but 3 Vauxhall Main Dealers could not locate the fault that I was reporting!).

Steering column has just been replaced at 23,000 miles (This seemed to be the actual fault I had reported originally!).

General Comments:

Superb car to drive, 0-60 is extremely quick at under 7 seconds and pushing just under 200 BHP.

17" rims, tyres, and lowered suspension keep the car firmly on the road.

Electric Recaro seats are great comfort and support for longer journeys.

Plenty of boot space and interior space too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th February, 2002

26th Feb 2002, 11:59

What was the actual fault you found with the original steering column please? My 2000 Vectra's steering has a slight 'looseness' at times when coming out of full lock. I might have the column universal/knuckle joint problem?

27th Feb 2002, 01:32

Regarding steering play, I had the same symptoms as described with my GSi Estate.

Cause was worn track rod ends (at just 34000 miles)

These were replaced on monday, and the problem is solved.

My previous V6 SRi ('97) Estate also managed to eat its way through two steering column knuckle joints in the space of 50,000 miles, though the ('00) GSi has not had this problem.

/Steve.

2000 Vauxhall Vectra CDX 2.2 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired4000 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Senator

Summary:

A good buy that will serve you well if you can put up with the Vauxhall dealer network!

Faults:

Air conditioning failed due to hole in one of the pipes. The dealer got the new pipe and fitted it within a week, with a courtesy car supplied free.

General Comments:

A really good family car, now on our third Vectra and haven't really had any great problems with any of them. Can't believe how biased Jeremy Clarkson is.

The only real gripe is the front seats, absolute rubbish. Our old 1.8LS was more comfortable. Seems Vauxhall have added loads of padding/lumbar support to the front seat backs and done this by stealing space from the front seat squab, instead of removing space from the cramped rear.

Vauxhall dealers though, continue to frustrate. A car is only as good as the manufacturer's dealers, and our local one is a waste of space. We didn't even buy the car from him (still waiting for him to call us back) and we have since bought a GSi Vectra, and again not from our local dealer. We ordered some genuine accessories from him, gave up waiting on these as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2002

2000 Vauxhall Vectra CDX 2.2 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance19000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Should it be this noisy??

Faults:

None so far.

Recently purchased.

General Comments:

Bought this recently at a knock down price.

I find the engine very noisy. It sounds like a truck! Is this a common problem?

Performance from the diesel is fantastic and economy looks promising.

The interior looks dated, but the CDX spec means the car is loaded with gadgets.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th January, 2002

2000 Vauxhall Vectra SRi 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 406

Summary:

A real bargain to buy and run overall, given the performance and specification!

Faults:

It required a new set of plug leads - the dealer took absolutely ages to diagnose? 4 or 5 trips to the dealer to rectify.

No other major faults so far.

General Comments:

This car is quick in a straight line and generally handles well given its weight and size. The seats are too hard and lack real support (for sports seats)?

A great specification for the money - ABS, traction control, AC and a CD player! Brilliant.

Generally a good runner with an average of about 35 mpg with a mixture of motorway and side road driving.

Buy one at the car supermarket - save 40% on new. Beware of dealers, they are not very good!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th September, 2001

11th Aug 2002, 07:34

I had the same problem with plug leads. It took a spin with the service manager, a charge-hand and the Garage supervisor and they still couldn't find the problem. I demanded that the plug leads be changed after they had practically replaced every other part and guess what? They didn't charge me for the leads! I wonder why.

The Main Dealers are absolutely rubbish and their attitude stinks. I will never buy another Vauxhall! Pity though, I quite like the Vectra.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 37 reviews