2001 Lincoln LS Reviews - Page 16 of 17

2001 Lincoln LS from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

A very nice package with quality problems that leave you disappointed

Faults:

Door posts will not maintain look.

Power windows on both front doors fell off track.

Shift boot not secured properly.

The $1,200 upgraded wheels cracked, cosmetic.

Traction control light comes on indescriminately.

The engine intake gaskets failed, a $600.00 repair.

The standard moisture in the headlight problem.

General Comments:

This is a nice car, but the fit and finish and reliability leave a lot to be desired.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th December, 2003

18th Mar 2004, 09:43

All the windows in my car needed a new regulator already. The power passenger seat broke. The trunk release button from the inside does not work either.

30th Sep 2004, 02:19

Moisture condensation is already a problem at 20K. Dealership has been flawlessly cooperating with the problem.

24th Oct 2004, 14:16

How do I fix the condensation in my headlight if the warranty is expired?

22nd Dec 2004, 11:22

If you people are having problems try getting a warranty like myself. People who leave comments like this lack common sense. Do the right thing in the beginning and you won't end up in an uncomfortable situation in the first place. I left my 2 cents. Thanks.

21st Dec 2006, 15:41

Warranties expire. Go one step further and check out this site first. Not very many smileys for this vehicle - and it's hardly surprising.

2nd Nov 2013, 10:37

I too have had the problems with both the driver and passenger windows. Power steering gone out, and the rear view mirror shakes at speeds over 60mph.

2001 Lincoln LS V8 3.9L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.9L Automatic
Distance when acquired1800 miles
Most recent distance2900 miles
Previous carLincoln LS

Faults:

Rear View Mirror assembly vibrates and the mirror part shakes at high speed making objects in rear not visible.

Also the driver side rear view mirror located on the door has the exact same above problem of the mirror part shaking and vibrating at high speeds making objects in rear not visible. Strangely enough the passenger side mirror on the door is perfect with no Vibrations at any speed.

Prior to this 2001 LS V8, we have owned a 2000 Lincoln LS V6 that had the exact same above problems. In spite of me complaining to Lincoln Headquarters and taking the car to 2 different Lincoln dealers, these identical above problems have never been solved. Due to the potential danger to us and people riding in the vehicle and around it on the road, we will never purchase a Lincoln LS again.

The 2000 Lincoln LS also over heated several times and the problem was never permanently fixed, which worried us everytime we drove the car.

We do like the handling and performance of this vehicle however it has shut off on us one day while being driven.

Since the manufacturer or one of their dealers is not concerned in fixing this potentialy dangerous problem, we hesitate to consider buying or leasing another LS ever again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th August, 2003

15th Mar 2004, 04:23

I have a 2002 Lincoln LS that I bought new. In the first month, I had several transmission leaks and the hoses had to be replaced twice. After 1 1/2 years, the transmission died. I have heard several complaints of transmission problems. The engine is too powerful for the transmission they have in it to pull.

2001 Lincoln LS 3.9V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.9V8 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carLincoln Mark VIII

Summary:

A very good road performance 4 door sedan

Faults:

Rear window mechanism failed to work.

General Comments:

This was a replacement for the Mk VIII that I loved, but the automatic suspension was dying. I purchased the 2001 LS after looking at the entire field and have been very satisfied. Living in Los Angeles, with two kids in San Francisco I frequently drive up. This is the car to do it in. I consistently drive at between 80 and 120 and my wife, who is some what tolerant has noted that the car feels very good at those speeds. Further, it is remarkably quiet at those speeds, and the stability is close to the top of the list. At 10,000 miles I changed to synthetic oil due to the long periods of time I occasionally drive it hard. There have been no problems other than my puncturing two tires. The handling on the car is good, but considering I am an ex-NASCAR driver, it is not great. For a road car, it is right up there with the best four door sedans on the market. Only issue I have with the car is the 252 HP. For me that is not enough, and I am now exploring options to bring that more into the 400 HP range. With that HP and a chassis tweak or two, this would really be a fine road car. Oh yes, I also have installed Sirius Radio, making the tunes available all the time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2003

9th Feb 2007, 16:35

How long have you had this car for? I am planning on purchasing a used 01 myself, but I'm doing some research on the car, and according to this site 2 of about 12 people have said this car is crap and that they have had many problems with this vehicle. I just want to know if this car is very reliable, and dependable.

11th Nov 2007, 09:59

Let me know how you do that I have a 2001 ls and I've done a few things to make it almost 300 but I want more. mp763r@yahoo.com

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 61 reviews